Advanced

Received 111 Likes on 36 Posts
Default Post-First-track-day-in-a-GT4 thoughts

A lot of firsts yesterday for me!

-First track day in a Porsche,
-First track day in a car that was mid engine
-First track day running cup 2 tires
-First track day in my 981 GT4.

I probably took this car to 10% of its limit because I'm a beginner and have maybe 7 total track days worth of experience (yesterday was my first day back on a track in 10 years so I'm basically brand new and rusty). Track was atlanta motorsports park in GA via JZilla Track days.

-First session review: In the morning session it was still a bit cold, in the 40's, and the track was slick due to slight rain so had to be careful. My goal for this session was to very simply get comfortable with being on a track again, to find the braking points, to find what gear to be in for X turn and so forth, and really just build comfort. I gave probably 10 cars a point by to pass me (about 20 cars in each run group I think) because I was not focused on pushing myself or the car yet.

-2nd session review: Now it was about 10am, the track temps were in the 50's, it was sunny, track was dry, and now I started to have confidence in the tires grip and the car. I started to progressively drive faster in each corner to feel things out and in this session I overtook about 8 cars with ease (with pointby of course).

3rd session review: with the temps in the 60's now and the the track warm I felt like I was superman, lol. The grip and control I felt I had was beyond words. This car, I mean wow. Porsche is amazing at what they do. I had a blast