Sponsored by:

De-Snork

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2008, 09:31 PM
DSPTurtle
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default De-Snork

Not being one to leave well enough alone, I decided this weekend to remove the snorkels/silencers from my 2004 Cayenne S. Why? Well a few weeks back I purchased the Durametric cable and software. Once I started playing with the data logging feature I noticed I could record sensor data from each MAF independently. So I unhooked one of the airboxes and noticed that all the air was now flowing in from that side. Not believing the hype of the Evo cold air intake I pulled the entire airbox and connected it upside down to the MAF with no connection to the snorkel/silencer. Well, that side was still favored by the motor. I started digging further into where the snorkel was sucking air from. I could quickly tell that not one of the huge intakes on the front spoiler was feeding air to the engine, only the radiators. I found that the snorkel intake was tucked under the Porsche badge on the front. How it could get air from in there is still a mystery to me. I went about the task of removing the snorkels from each side. This is certainly not a job for the faint of heart. On the first side I had to remove the inner wheel liner just so I could figure out how everything was routed. The second went a little easier. However, I must tell you that the snorkel must be removed from the top... by pulling back on the area where the badge resides. It reminded me of when my wife gave birth to our children. Once all was removed and replaced I could feel a difference in the throttle and hear a difference when the motor inhaled. I left the stock airboxes in the original configuration with simply the snorkels removed.