Sponsored by:

Race Support ?

Search this Thread

Old 06-26-2019, 08:41 PM
jscott82
Rennlist Member

Received 363 Likes on 238 Posts
Default Race Support ?

Just curious, what percent of racers use race shop for support vs going it alone?

I've been doing DE for going on 15 years now and figured a race would not be much different (IE:Needing support). But just to be safe I hired a friend (Cody @ https://www.blackforestracing.com/) to be there "just in case". I was surprised how much "could" be done, not just there to fix shi... stuff.... But all around moral support making sure the car was always in tip top shape, and coaching/encouraging/spotting on the radio.

Now I'm left with the dilemma.. Do I do this all the time or just on special occasions (this was my first race in 10 years, and the first race for this car)?.
Old 06-26-2019, 08:54 PM
ProCoach
Rennlist
Basic Site Sponsor

Received 2,877 Likes on 1,688 Posts

You make a budget with and without. Call around to establish the expected price range. Interview the people who might be of interest to you. I've never heard of anyone who looked after themselves who, after they decided to use support, wanted to go back to going alone.

There are other intangibles, like enjoying the other competitors under the tent. That's how shops with a big presence get bigger. It's really nice, and a lot of fun.

But every scenario and personality is different. And the range in cost (and service, not always commensurate) is tremendous.

The cultures between shop "tents" can be VERY different, depending on the personalities and motivations of the shop owner/crew chief and the competitors. Find one that is compatible with you and your motivations.

When I had my historic racing prep shop, we would take four to ten cars a dozen times a year all over North America. A great benefit was the camaraderie "under the tent."