Sponsored by:

Posting videos on Rennlist

Search this Thread

Old 12-21-2019, 04:42 PM
9.5 Degrees
Pro

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts
Default Posting videos on Rennlist

I've found RL to be a good source of information over the years. As a racer and instructor, I know I'm not perfect and would like to continually improve my driving and thus help my students. I vividly remember a time when a friend asked me to drive him around Spring Mountain in his GT3. This friend had take off slicks on it and upon coming around the last corner onto the front straight, I had snap oversteer. It's unclear to me if the tires where heat cycled out, they hadn't had enough temps in them yet (cool temps in fall or winter), or if I simply got on the gas too soon. The bottom line is that we were out of shape so much (possible over 45 degrees) that I could see the wall in front of me on the inside. Somehow I saved it and kept on going and my buddy thought it was the greatest save he'd ever seen. The truth was that I didn't know if I could save it and the thought of paying thousands of dollars to fix his car had cross my mind in those milliseconds. I never said anything to him because I didn't want him to know how close I was to wrecking his car.

There's been moments over the years where I thought about posting such big moment videos here and others where I thought I had a really good race just to get some feedback from other racers and the pro driving coaches to see, "Hey, I thought I did really well in this race, but maybe I'm not seeing something but you may". With the recent video on this forum, I don't think we have the culture of being critically constructive without belittling someone. Hopefully we can change that and try to help each other out without getting offensive and conversely not getting too defensive.

Cheers, Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all.
Old 12-21-2019, 04:54 PM
Veloce Raptor
Rennlist Member

Received 1,435 Likes on 768 Posts