Sponsored by:

Proud Instructor Moment - Student Now Solo

Search this Thread

Old 04-16-2021, 05:16 PM
PUNKT2
Rennlist Member

Received 309 Likes on 148 Posts
Default Proud Instructor Moment - Student Now Solo

I've been an instructor for Chin for about five years now, and for about the last year I've been instructing my wife. She didn't have any knowledge of track days when we first met, but was an athlete back in the day, so I figured she'd enjoy it. Turned out she enjoyed it a little more than I was expecting, as before lunch on the first Saturday she asked if she could sign up for Sunday!

So over the course of about six weekends we had our ups and downs, but she (mostly) listened to what I was saying, only had red mist once or twice and over the course of that year went from my girlfriend to fiance to wife and she's still here, so we survived! Back when I first got involved in HPDE I didn't have a camera, so I can't reflect (and laugh) at my first time on track, but it sure is fun to do with her as the difference is quite amazing!

Proud of us as a team for getting her to reach her goal of being solo.

Best session from day one:

Best session from last weekend - her first solo event:
The following 4 users liked this post by PUNKT2:
bbinder (04-17-2021), mrbill_fl (04-18-2021), ProCoach (04-16-2021), steved0x (04-17-2021)
Old 04-16-2021, 06:42 PM
TXE36
Drifting

Received 191 Likes on 128 Posts

You instructed your wife? You also stress tested your marriage! Congrats!

On the topic of proud moments, I still enjoy seeing students who were first timers with me showing up as newly minted instructors at the instructor meeting Saturday morning years later.
Old 04-16-2021, 08:41 PM
LuigiVampa
WRONGLY ACCUSED!
Rennlist Member

Received 3,360 Likes on 1,613 Posts

I taught my wife to drive when we were 16 (then my girlfriend) and I think she has been trying to teach me how to drive ever since.