Sponsored by:

Transition to Racing w/CS

Search this Thread

Old 02-17-2024, 09:21 PM
Paveit22
Track Day

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Transition to Racing w/CS

Looking for some helpful advice please. I am in the process of transitioning to racing from HDPE. I have a GT4 RS Clubsport. I'm on the west coast and am trying to determine if NASA, SCCA or PCA is the best route. It appears PCA is the best suited for the car with the most competitors though in addition to Race school (completed) they want recent race experience. Which class in NASA or SCCA has enough in the run group to actually make it a race. Again, I'm new to this so probably off base somewhere, if not everywhere. I just thought someone out there may have traveled the same steps. Thanks for reading the post!
Old 02-17-2024, 09:35 PM
Frank 993 C4S
Addict
Rennlist Member

Received 809 Likes on 495 Posts

PCA doesn't require recent race experience. Most Rookies join PCA Club Racing from the PCA driver Education program.
Old 02-17-2024, 11:21 PM
zedcat
Rennlist Member

Received 356 Likes on 257 Posts

With PCA you would be in a relatively large multi class race group. Not sure how many other cars in class you would be out there with. I don't know how many RS Clubsports have come in to PCA club racing yet, maybe more in your area? The 4 liter RS is GTD3. 981 is GTD1 and 718 3.8l is GTD2 (my class). These are Spec classes so very few changes are allowed from the original PMNA specs. The Pirelli DHF and Pirelli Wet are the spec tires.