PCA medical committee revoked my race license

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2024, 09:41 PM
LuigiVampa
WRONGLY ACCUSED!
Rennlist Member

Received 3,363 Likes on 1,615 Posts
Default PCA medical committee revoked my race license

The PCA medical committee revoked my race license because I felt that their request for me to verify treatment for sleep apnea went beyond what PCA’s minimum standards require.

In my last PCA medical evaluation form I disclosed that I have sleep apnea and use a CPAP machine. I have been using a CPAP machine for several years now, and through an omission, I did not disclose it on my last medical evaluation. That mistake is not the issue.

Even though I had a year left on my existing medical, when I got a new physical in January I thought I would send in a new medical form to get extended for another two years. When PCA saw that I disclosed the use of a CPAP machine, they asked me for more information, which I initially complied with.

The machine I had been using was recently recalled. I forwarded to PCA a receipt showing the recent purchase of a home CPAP and travel CPA, for a total of $2,300. Since the CPAP device was brand new I provided three days’ worth of data from my phone app. PCA said they wanted more information (without specifying what they wanted), so I asked to be put in touch with the medical committee.

Dr. Harry Kintzi, who is the chair of the medical committee, called and told me that the PCA medical committee uses the DOT standard for truck drivers with sleep apnea, and I had to provide much more data from my CPAP device. He said that I was at risk of falling asleep while driving my race car which, barring some things my brother-in-law has said over the years, is probably the most ridiculous statements I have ever heard in my life.