Sponsored by:

Mystery engine problem Help !

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2013, 10:12 AM
good hands
Rennlist Member

Received 37 Likes on 26 Posts
Default Mystery engine problem Help !

At my last race weekend in NJ I was black flagged several times for getting an occasional puff of greyish smoke out of the rear of the car. Seems like it only did it during load as we can not recreate it on the Dyno. We have done just about every test imaginable. Compression, leak down, no codes being thrown, engine has been scoped, no leaks, oil is good, water is good. All the numbers have been excellent.

It has the motorsports AOS that was installed just 2 years ago. I have not heard of these going bad but that is the hunch of the mechanic. Any thoughts appreciated.

Car is my 996 race car. Stock 3.6 engine.
Old 09-09-2013, 10:19 AM
Steve113
Rennlist Member

Received 263 Likes on 145 Posts

I am no expert but sounds like blow by of some sort. Figure out if you were exciting a corner and if it was left or rights
Old 09-09-2013, 10:37 AM
Paul 996
Rennlist Member

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

You can't recreate it on a dyno since there are no lateral g forces involved. The AOS is most likely on its way out. You can test the crankcase vacuum if it is excessive you know that it is the AOS.

Engine crankcase vacuum is normally around 4-7” (Inches) of water. When the oil separators fail the crankcase vacuum can rise to 9-12” and even higher. The other thing you will see if the car running abnormally rich.

While the 986/987s generate a massive smoke screen the 996/997 seem to make a puff here and there but the problem is you are ingesting oil into the intake and will foul up your plugs, etc.

Why on earth would they black flag you for a "puff" of smoke? A smoke screen I could understand.

Hope this helps.

-P

Last edited by Paul 996; 09-09-2013 at 10:50 AM. Reason: Added more details
Old 09-09-2013, 11:25 AM
morsini
Three Wheelin'

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts