Rennlist Discussion Forums   classifieds | membership | rennlist | photo album    
sponsors | upload photo | chat | marketplace    
 


Go Back   Rennlist Discussion Forums > Rennnlist Help and Announcement Forums > Rennlist Help & Test Forum (Post Forum Function Problems Here)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2009, 03:20 PM   #1
RallyJon
Weathergirl
Rennlist Member
 
RallyJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 4,528
Default jbrlsr.com and commission-junction?

Can someone explain what's going on with links on Rennlist?

A link appears like www.ebay.com etc etc, but when you click on it, it doesn't go to the ebay page, it goes first to some huge url at jbrlsr.com then to another huge url at commission-junction.

Getting the feeling I'm being tracked, here...
__________________
02 996 C4S · 95 993 C4 · 911 RS look · STI · S4 · rally car
RallyJon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 03:23 PM   #2
SeanR
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
SeanR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Denton Texas
Posts: 7,282
Send a message via Yahoo to SeanR
Default

It's been happening for months to me. On my home computers 2 of the 3, the scripts that jblrlsr.com locks up my broweser for periods of time.
__________________
http://www.928srus.com/
Anotherplace
Don't laugh
--------------------------
'88 S4

Bozone (n.): The substance surrounding stupid people that stops bright ideas from penetrating. The bozone layer, unfortunately, shows little sign of breaking down in the near future.
SeanR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2009, 07:40 PM   #3
IB Adrian
Internet Brands
 
IB Adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: at 10,000 rpms
Posts: 707
Default

Links to ebay and a couple of other sites go through jbrlsr. I am checking why its locking the page - sorry for that.
__________________
Adrian
IB Adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2009, 11:55 AM   #4
RallyJon
Weathergirl
Rennlist Member
 
RallyJon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: SE PA
Posts: 4,528
Default

It's Walter Röhrl.

You guys don't think it's deceptive to show a link going to one place, then sending the click to another place?
__________________
02 996 C4S · 95 993 C4 · 911 RS look · STI · S4 · rally car
RallyJon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2009, 11:52 AM   #5
Whitey||C4S
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Whitey||C4S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Wake Zone Coffee House in Apex, NC
Posts: 1,003
Default

Bump for an update from IB as to what jbrlsr.com is.
__________________
Whitey||C4S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2009, 10:22 PM   #6
IB Adrian
Internet Brands
 
IB Adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: at 10,000 rpms
Posts: 707
Default

Sorry - to answer your question:
It is a plugin for our forum software.
http://www.drivingrevenue.com/
The program was actually written by one of the gentleman that started and built 6speedonline (another Porsche forum community if you are not familiar with it).
The intent of the program is to allow Rennlist to gain a small referral fee for anyone that elects to purchase items from Rennlist (typically on ebay, but also with amazon.com and a couple of online retailers).

I hope that answers your question
IB Adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 10:38 AM   #7
LVDell
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Wake Zone Coffee House in Apex, NC
Posts: 17,443
Default

The problem with that is that you are using our browsing to sites that are NOT your current sponsors and then we get attacked with ads at the top for the very sites we browsed to. I keep getting ads to an online college (Capella and others). I when to that site and a few others when doing some research for our nanny. I sure as heck don't want that ad everytime I log into Rennlist to be splashed across the top when I have no desire to enroll myself or my nanny there.

Tracking where we browse is not going to go over well. Not good. We should have the ability as users to block that information sharing.

Last edited by LVDell; 11-11-2009 at 01:13 PM.
LVDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 07:05 PM   #8
IB Adrian
Internet Brands
 
IB Adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: at 10,000 rpms
Posts: 707
Default

Thats actually something seperate from "jbslr" and also it is actually not something we do, nor is it done by anyone we do business with on Rennlist, its the website you browse (Capella for example), that loads a cookie on your browser.
An example is Google ads will identify that cookie on your computer and target advertisements appropriately. Its called behavioral targeting.
You can get around this by deleting your cookies each time you close your browser.

Again, I don't know why you are seeing that, as it is not something we do on Rennlist, nor is it something that is done by the partners we work with in advertising on Rennlist (we specifically ask them not to do behavioral targeting).
It is potentially a sheer coincidence, but we will also speak to our partners to re clarify they are indeed not doing behavioral targeting (they shouldn't be, they don't have the capability too!).
However, you can prevent this from occurring on any website by regularly deleting your cookies, which gives you, the user, the ability to block that information sharing.

On a personal level, I encounter a similar issue on non Internet Brands sites, I just purchased a new Lenovo laptop, and every non Internet Brands site I go to now shows me an ad for Lenovo's laptop range.


I hope that helps
__________________
Adrian
IB Adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2009, 07:41 PM   #9
Bob Rouleau
Administrator
Still plays with cars.
Lifetime Rennlist
Member
 
Bob Rouleau's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Montreal
Posts: 7,831
Default

Since this issue comes up fairly often I have made it a sitcky in the hope that it answers the question without angst
__________________
..Bob
Frozen North Rep & ceramic rotor roaster
Hey, wait for me! racing.
Bob Rouleau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 01:13 AM   #10
LVDell
Addict
Rennlist Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Wake Zone Coffee House in Apex, NC
Posts: 17,443
Default

Then maybe you care to explain this? Here is a screen capture from right now.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 996 fourm screen shot.jpg (60.5 KB, 0 views)
LVDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2009, 01:20 AM   #11
IB Adrian
Internet Brands
 
IB Adrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: at 10,000 rpms
Posts: 707
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LVDell View Post
Then maybe you care to explain this? Here is a screen capture from right now.
Just want to clarify, I am not stating you are not seeing the ad, but you shouldn't be seeing the advertising based on anyone knowing your browsing history thats all.

Try deleting your cookies and see if it goes away.
Adrian
IB Adrian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
httpjbrlsrcom, jbrlsr, jbrlsrcom, jbrslr, link

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -3. The time now is 03:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.2.0
Copyright © 1998 - 2007, Rennlist.com

Advertise on Rennlist - Terms of Service - Privacy Policy - Jobs