Spec Boxsters For info sharing on this exciting new class

Spec Boxster noise level vs. stock...Tinnitus

Search this Thread

Old 04-01-2024, 01:09 PM
Henderjb
AutoX

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Spec Boxster noise level vs. stock...Tinnitus

I am in my second year of HPDE using a 2005 Boxster S. Love it! Im considering swapping into a race ready Boxster for PCA, SCCA, Champ car, etc to prepare for possible entry into "wheel to wheel" racing. As one who suffers from considerable tinnitus already, I am curious how much louder a Boxster with the insulation removed is? I imagine I could sacrifice some performance by using stock exhaust or even adding a silencer or downpipes? (possibly only a motorcycle thing). Would love to hear others experience with sound levels as they converted a car to a "race car" or better yet how someone with hearing loss/ringing in the ears has managed to stay with this hobby despite bad ears. Thanks in advance for any info.
Old 04-01-2024, 01:16 PM
jerome951
Drifting

Received 62 Likes on 52 Posts

My car is a normal SBP with a Fabspeed race exhaust, so a bit on the loud side. It registers 102 db at my local track. I have to wear very effective earplugs when driving or I start to get a headache after a bit. Once at a DE I forgot to put in my earplugs and had to come in after a couple laps.
I think you would want to experiment with leaving the stock sound deadening in place as that will reduce both the engine and exhaust sound. Even with the stock exhaust the engine will still be loud just over your shoulder..
The following users liked this post:
Henderjb (04-02-2024)
Old 04-01-2024, 06:48 PM
dan212
Rennlist Member

Received 106 Likes on 75 Posts

You absolutely must wear ear plugs or the like on a race prepped SPB. Its not just your car you have to worry about.
The cars around you may be even louder. Painfully so.

You must use hearing protection of some kind.